SPAC Grant Awards

2019 SPAC Grants

The Special Projects Advisory Committee (SPAC) is tasked to make recommendations to the Executive committee regarding the use of invested Chapter funds derived from some of the National Conventions held in Boston.  Special projects are considered to augment the normal Chapter activities. Grants can be made to anyone in the USA in the categories of: public concerts, radio broadcasts, research, publications, recordings, competitions, commissions, educational projects, and organ music libraries.  Since its inception in 1977 with about $80,000 from the 1976 Convention, more than $185,000 has been granted to various groups and endeavors using the income from the endowment.  The value of the SPAC fund is now about $110,000 which generates about $5,000 in yearly income from the Morgan-Stanley investment account. There were 10 applications for funding this year and the 5 recipients were as follows. 

1. $1,500 to the Association of Anglican Musicians (AAM) for their conference in July.  Concerts by the Boston Camerata and the Lorelei Ensemble are open to the public and will partially be funded by this grant.     

2. $500 for an “OrgelKids” case.   This group from Oregon, started in 2016, needs a new case for their traveling organ kit. 

3. $300 for our Chapter Organ Library to digitally transcribe cassette tapes from the E. power Biggs’s 1940-1949 CBS broadcasts housed in our Library. 

4. $2,200 for the Cape Cod and Islands Chapter, AGO, Pipe Organ Encounter in July 2019.

5. The Plymouth Philharmonic Orchestra presents 8 different concerts in their 1,200 seat Memorial Hall. The first features the Saint-Saens (Organ) Symphony No.3.and is expected to fill the hall.  The Boston Chapter will take a ¼ page ad for $350 to be incorporated in all 8 of their program books reaching about 10,000 musical people during the year.

The five SPAC members this year are: Colin Lynch (2020), Lee Ridgway (2021), Scot Huntington (2022), and Margaret Angelini (2023) , Robert Barney (2024)

Applications for Special Project consideration next time will be due in September.  Additional information will be on the chapter website. 

Respectfully submitted, Martin Steinmetz, 
SPAC Coordinator and Assistant Treasurer of Library/ SPAC funds